jump to navigation

the sweet pain of writing Janeiro 12, 2015

Posted by paulo jorge vieira in ethnography.
Tags: ,
trackback

writ

Every article, book, or thesis begins with a first word, but getting started feels overwhelming. My worst prose derives from disorganized thinking and writing, and over the years I’ve experimented with different systems to help me get my projects off the ground. When I map out some incremental steps, my projects seem more manageable.

First I ask myself: what do I want (or need) to write? This helps determine the best format for my research results. In some cases the format was predetermined for me – when I was a doctoral student I had to produce a dissertation of a certain minimum length. When I write for a journal, they enforce specific word counts. These days, I have a bit more freedom, but I still struggle to determine if I have a book length argument or if my research is best presented as a series of articles.

From the blog Savage Minds this very good text “Ethnographers as Writers: Getting Started”  written by just give me simple ideas in this moment of living with the sweet pain of writing!

Comentários»

1. Writer at work | Haute Hoskins - Novembro 27, 2015

[…] paulojorgevieira.wordpress.com […]


Deixe uma Resposta

