jump to navigation

Anxiety, Fear and Transition to The Non-Binary Me Fevereiro 11, 2015

Posted by paulo jorge vieira in Uncategorized.
trackback

leituras em torno de processos de partilha e memória de subjectividades diversas

When I started this journey last summer I was following the pull of my heart and was tired of pretending. The journey I am taking about is living my life as an agender, genderqueer person. I did not, however, stop to think about how this would affect my preexisting anxiety disorder which is triggered, in part by being out in public by myself. Up until now I have only dressed in a blend of what may be considered to be masculine and feminine clothes when I am with close friends and allies. I had hoped to find a way to keep a close cropped beard in the mix but it is clear that short of going very feminine otherwise I will still be taken as a man. So after being “sir-ed” while out shopping I came home and shaved the beard off.

Fairy JerBear's Queer/Trans Musings From The City Different - Santa Fe, NM

image

When I started this journey last summer I was following the pull of my heart and was tired of pretending. The journey I am taking about is living my life as an agender, genderqueer person. I did not, however, stop to think about how this would affect my preexisting anxiety disorder which is triggered, in part by being out in public by myself. Up until now I have only dressed in a blend of what may be considered to be masculine and feminine clothes when I am with close friends and allies. I had hoped to find a way to keep a close cropped beard in the mix but it is clear that short of going very feminine otherwise I will still be taken as a man. So after being “sir-ed” while out shopping I came home and shaved the beard off.

I had, had a beard for 24 uninterrupted…

View original post mais 605 palavras

Comentários»

No comments yet — be the first.

Deixe uma Resposta

