jump to navigation

Queer Horizons Julho 5, 2015

Posted by paulo jorge vieira in Uncategorized.
trackback

a ler.

Unstratified

by Jamie Arjona

Social Media Rainbow

Last Friday, following the Supreme Court ruling on “same-sex marriage”, I opened my browser and started scrolling through a glitter-bombed version of my usual newsfeeds. Social media, news broadcasts, and even the White House all looked like they were reeling in the aftermath of a Pride parade. Aside from a few disgruntled posts, rainbows had overtaken the internet. Yet, I found myself feeling conflicted. I was at once elated and disheartened. As a queer person, the excitement was effervescent. Putting aside my critical stance on marriage for a few moments, I relived my own experiences of oppression – being harassed on the street, hearing homophobic jokes, receiving disgusted looks – and felt vindicated. I applauded allies for making their support public and cheered for friends who denounced homophobic responses on social media.

Photo Credit: a.b.w.7 through Creative Commons attribution license. Photo Credit: a.b.w.7 through creative commons attribution license.

My cynicism reemerged when I realized that…

View original post mais 1.516 palavras

Comentários»

No comments yet — be the first.

Deixe uma Resposta

